Yoga Sutras | Ashtanga Yoga | Patanjali Yoga Sutras | Pranayama and Asana

Yoga Sutras

Yoga is an art of discipline that was developed by an Indian Hindu named Patanjali. He wrote a book on yoga in Sanskrit over two thousand years ago. Yoga sutras comes in many forms specially designed to suit different types of people. Therefore, some forms of yoga have gained popularity significantly.

The word “yoga” derived from the Sanskrit word “Yuj”, which means to yoke, and is typically translated as union, integration, attach, join, or unite. Thus, it is the union and integration of every part of a human being, from the innermost to the external.

The yoga sutras are considered to be a collection of yogic thoughts that is largely raja yogic in nature. In yoga sutras, Patanjali suggests eight steps that are the basic principles of yoga practice to calm one’s mind and unite with the infinite.

The yoga sutras are the physical activities that focus on the body, meditation and the mind. Yoga sutras combine the yoga practices to provide an overall sense of physical and mental health.

Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras – Ashtanga Yoga

Here are the eight yoga sutras to look at and learn a little about each one.

* Yama – abstentions
* Niyama – self-purification and study
* Asana – posture or pose
* Pranayama – breathe control
* Pratyahara – sense control
* Dharana – concentration
* Dhyana – contemplation
* Samadhi – veridical meditation

Yama and Niyama

The first two yoga sutras, yama and niyama, are ten good logical guidelines for bringing spiritual consciousness into a social perspective to lead a healthier, happier life. They both cope with moral and ethical issues.

They are the fundamental laws to direct the actions of humanity. These yoga sutras help us in respecting the principles of this life, in balancing our inner intensification with outer restraint. Following these principles of yoga sutras means leading a life in a better way, about making it possible to understand and connect with the divine. Thus they lead us to a conscious life.


Asana refers to the different postures that can be practiced to reinforce the body physically. It is treated as yoga postures in accord with one’s inner consciousness. A Regular practice of this yoga sutra helps to keep our body fit, controls levels of cholesterol, normalizes blood pressure, reduces weight, and recovers heart performance.


Pranayama is a multiple term ‘prana’ and ‘yama’, which means the maintenance of prana in a healthy way throughout one’s life. It is the control of our breathing through yoga exercises. Regular practice of pranayama helps to control the prana in and around us. Thus it leads to a state of inner peace.


Pratyahara is achieved when all of your senses are withdrawn from the outside world. It is necessary to practice pratyahara for reaching the three meditative stages: dharana, dhyana and samadhi. It is a yoga technique through which you are focusing, on what is going on within your body.


Dharana, this one of the yoga sutras centers on your concentration. It’s to help you in developing a one-mindedness that, special concentration techniques to enable you to focus only on your inner world.


Dhyana is translated as meditation, when the mind gains the ability to maintain its concentration without getting diverted. You unite with your inner self and image of concentration. You use the time to reflect on your special qualities.


The last one of the yoga sutras is Samadhi or total absorption, is the capability of becoming one with the true self and unites into the object of concentration. Reaching Samadhi is the ultimate aim of all yoga practitioners of classical yoga. It means “union with the supreme.” For yoga devotees, this is the supreme goal.

It is the identification with static reality. It requires a dedicated practice to achieve the perfect yoga sutra. It takes ample of dedicated practices on concentration, contemplation, and meditation to let you on the way to the final sutra of Samadhi. With this one of the yoga sutras, you develop a great amount of determination and will power.

Most people turn to yoga for asanas, the postures. They are seeking the ways of relaxing, increasing their flexibility and practicing yoga exercises that isn’t tiresome. In Asana, the yoga postures are needed to be firm and pleasant.

It may also take some time for them to feel that way, as there are some postures that are not easy or comfortable to perform at initial stages. So, at this stage, you can make use of supports in order to feel steady and pleasant. Make use of props, such as a pillow to allow more comfort.

You should make challenge of yourself until you feel comfortable with the first postures you learn. It is necessary for you to find a stable and comfortable place within you in order to discover your true potential. The inner center is where all action should originate.

Ultimately, you are able to relax and meditate. While practicing yoga sutras and it’s going smoothly, you’re already half way there. The feeling of success makes you recognize that all things are possible. So, better challenge yourself at the moment in order to discover your quiet, peaceful inner peace.