David Hawkin’s Consciousness Scale

In order to bring all good things into our lives, we must practice vibrating at 200 (courage) and above on the consciousness scale.

The scale is a practical tool to keep our focus on the states of mind that make us feel GOOD ((GOD)).

Hawkins states that he has reached a highly advanced state of awareness by Divine grace and via decisive life experiences. In his works he approaches the study and practice of spirituality by means of his personal experience and his clinical and academic background. The stated objectives of Hawkins’ research and teaching are to facilitate metaphysical understanding and to confirm the reality of spiritual truth in the individual as well as society, focusing on subtle contextual aspects of consciousness and the road to enlightenment.

Life overview and professional stages

Born in Milwaukee on June 3, 1927, David Ramon Hawkins is the son of Ramon Nelson and Alice-Mary (McCutcheon) Hawkins. He grew up in rural Wisconsin. At the age of 12 years as a paperboy, in winter, he had a near-death experience (NDE). Serving in the U.S. Navy from 1945-1946 during World War II, he was aboard a minesweeper between June and August before Japan surrendered. After the war he earned a B.S. in pre-med from Marquette University (1950) and received a medical degree (M.D) from the Medical College of Wisconsin (1953). Hawkins underwent five years of his own Freudian psychoanalysis in New York while he trained to be a psychiatrist to take up his profession in 1953, leading to the American Psychiatric Association 50-Year Distinguished Life Fellows honor (May, 2004).

As a seeker and later on researcher of truth all his life, he was left unsatisfied by the array of information in the volumes of the Great Books of the Western World. Calling himself a “misfit”, he gravitated toward unconventional methods privately as well as professionally.

He married Margaret Hawkins, with whom he has one daughter. Due to his spiritual conversion in January 1965 and the course of subsequent life changes they divorced. In 1979 Hawkins gave up his large practice for a seven-year-period of a frugal life in Arizona as a hermit. After 12 years of spiritual study and meditation, he relearned worldly manners again to become an “ordinary man.”

Susan Humphrey, later his second wife, entered his life in 1991, being the one, who strongly insisted that he publish his findings. Until 1995 he had remained publicly silent about his extraordinary spiritual states such as his first memory, a sudden awareness of existence, at the age of 3, his NDE as a youngster, sensing the “excruciating immensity of the suffering of mankind” at 16, and his claimed enlightenment at 38 years, which he believes terminated his personhood, followed by his unity experience in 1977 in Rothman’s Restaurant in Long Island.

Quotations by David R. Hawkins

On effective change

“We change the world not by what we say or do, but as a consequence of what we have become. Thus, every spiritual aspirant serves the world.” The Eye of the I, p. 69

On the ego/false God

“From the viewpoint of the evolution of consciousness, atheism results from the refusal or inability to let go of the illusion that the narcissistic core of the ego is sovereign and is the source of one’s life and existence.” Truth vs. Falsehood, p. 356

On teaching/teachers

“The true [spiritual] teachers can be seen to have no interest in fame or in having followers, prestige or trappings […] The teachings and not the teacher are what is important. Inasmuch as the teachings do not come from the personage of the teacher at all, it does not make sense to idolize or worship the personage. The information is transmitted as a gift because it was received as such.” The Eye of the I, p. 37

On his enlightenment experience

“There was this miraculous change. …. it is so far reaching and […] so far beyond ordinary human experience. […] Now everything is transformed.

[…] And there is absolutely nothing you can say about it. […] Whatever had been my individual self was struck dumb with awe. It was awesome beyond all meaning of the word to be the witness of the presence of that which is in its naked expression as all existence. […]

Although the mind has stopped one is at one with all that is known. There is, in the instant, the experience with those attributes of God described as omniscience, omnipresence, and omnipotence.

The power is infinite. The knowingness is also infinite. All things are known. It doesn’t mean that all things are denoted by the intellect, because one would have to have an interest in such things. It is like in the presence of omniscience that all things are knowable, therefore one doesn’t bother knowing about the specific.”

Here Is The Map of Consciousness ®” :


Map of the Scale of Consciousness

Level Log/Calibration Emotion

Enlightenment 700 – 1,000 Pure Consciousness

Peace 600 Illumination

Joy 540 Serenity

Love 500 Reverence

Reason 400 Understanding

Acceptance 350 Forgiveness

Willingness 310 Optimism

Neutrality 250 Trust

Courage 200 Affirmation

The above are levels of Truth

The below are levels of falsehood

Pride 175 Scorn

Antagonistic 150 Hate

Desire 125 Lust

Fear 100 Anxiety

Grief 75 Regret

Apathy/Hatred 50 Despair

Guilt 30 Blame

Shame 20 Humiliation