11 Ways Nurses Can Become Mystics

What is a Mystic?

Mysticism from the Greek (mystikos) “an initiate” (of the Eleusinian Mysteries) (mysteria) meaning (“initiation”) is the pursuit of achieving communion or identity with, or conscious awareness of, ultimate reality, the divine, spiritual truth, or God through direct experience, intuition, or insight; and the belief that such experience is an important source of knowledge, understanding, and wisdom.

Traditions may include a belief in the literal existence of realities beyond empirical perception, or a belief that a true human perception of the world transcends logical reasoning or intellectual comprehension. A person delving in these areas may be called a Mystic.

In many cases, the purpose of mysticism and mystical disciplines such as meditation is to a reach of state of return or re-integration to Godhead. A common theme in mysticism is that the mystic and all of reality are One. The purpose of mystical practices is to achieve that oneness in experience, to transcend limited identity and re-identify with the all that is. The state oneness has many names depending on the mystical system: The Kingdom of Heaven, the Birth of the Spirit, the Third Awakening, Illumination, Union (Christianity), Self-Realization, Reintegration, Nirvana (Buddhism), Samadhi (Hinduism), and Gnosis, to name a few.

The term “mysticism” is often used to refer to beliefs which go beyond the purely exoteric practices of mainstream religions, while still being related to or based in a mainstream religious doctrine. For example, Kabbalah is a significant mystical movement within Judaism, and Sufism is a significant mystical movement within Islam. Gnosticism refers to both a mystical movement within Christianity and various mystical sects which arose out of Christianity. Some have argued that Christianity itself was a mystical sect that arose out of Judaism. While Eastern religion tends to find the concept of mysticism redundant, non-traditional knowledge and ritual are considered as Esotericism, for example Buddhism’s Vajrayana. Vedanta is considered the mystical branch of Hinduism.

1) Learn To Love All beings As God Loves

2) Learn to surrender to the innate wisdom that is within all of us

3) Learn to transcend learned habits, change course and get in line with your true nature

4) Learn that we are all equal in Divine Radiance

5) Become committed to your own transformation

6) Accept the impermanence of life and look at that which lasts, which is permanent, such as Love and Joy

7) Be aware of every moment as a witness–becoming One with the sea of consciousness which is free, nonjudgemental and loving

8) Balance the male and female with in yourself by detaching as witness, loving ALL at the same time

9) Fill your life with nonsuperficials, such as Love, Joy and Communion With The Divine

10) Nurses in the Middle Ages sucked the wounds of lepars and healed them. They did this by “Loving until it hurts,” in the Saint Francis and Mother Teresa tradition. This is called, “Radical Acceptance.” Acceptance of self and others. Seeing with clarity the Divine in All

11) Fill your life with a sense of love, with Abundance, with Prosperity. See your life as Eternal, Trascendent and Immortal. Give your life away, and know it can never be diminished. There is no lack. You are full of a loving and caring essence. Your Heart Shines Through All!!